STANDARDS COMMITTEE

WEDNESDAY, 9 MARCH 2011

DECISIONS

Set out below is a summary of the decisions taken at the meeting of the Standards Committee held on Wednesday, 9 March 2011. The wording used does not necessarily reflect the actual wording that will appear in the minutes.

If you have any queries about any matters referred to in this decision sheet please contact Holly Adams.

1. HAUXTON PARISH COUNCIL: REQUEST FOR DISPENSATION

The Standards Committee **AGREED** to grant eighteen-month dispensations, to begin 6 April 2011, to Hauxton Parish Councillors Susan Cook, Alan Hooper, Owen Patman and Jane Ward with the reminder that they are still to declare an interest in any matters concerning the Hauxton Parish Plan Steering Group by stating "I declare a personal interest as a member [or Chairman, in the case of Councillor Hooper] of the Hauxton Parish Plan Steering Group, for which I have been granted a dispensation by the Standards Committee".

2. ANNUAL STANDARDS COMMITTEE REPORT TO COUNCIL 2011

The Standards Committee **ADOPTED** the Annual Report to Council subject to amendments to be made to reflect work undertaken by the Committee between this meeting and the Council Annual General Meeting on 27 May 2011, such amendments to be circulated to all members prior to publication.

3. FUTURE OF STANDARDS

The Standards Committee **AGREED**

- (a) to make representations to the Local Government Association (LGA) urging that body to lead development of a national model code of conduct;
- (b) to establish a Future of Standards Working Group to recommend to the Standards Committee to recommend to Council:
 - (i) adoption of a local code of conduct and associated administrative framework, including the handling of complaints;
 - (ii) to develop the wording for a local code of conduct;
 - (iii) to develop a framework for the administration of the code of conduct including handling of complaints;
 - (iv) to make recommendations on the future of the Standards Committee, including its role and composition, and whether any or all of its work should be assigned to another Council body; and
 - (v) to make recommendations on whether or not the district council will continue to have responsibility for parish council matters, even if not obliged to by law, if requested by parish councils; and
- (c) to make the following appointments to the Future of Standards Working Group:
 - Councillor Nigel Cathcart Labour Group
 - Mrs Kathleen English independent co-opted member and Standards Committee Chairman
 - Michael Farrar parish council co-opted member
 - Councillor Janet Lockwood or Councillor Jim Stewart Liberal Democrat Group
 - Councillor Cicely Murfitt independent non-group
 - Councillor Tony Orgee (substitute Councillor Roger Hall) –

Conservative Group

- Eric Revell independent co-opted member Councillor Alex Riley Independent Group ٠
- •

It was further **AGREED** that the Future of Standards Working Group would finalise its Terms of Reference at its first meeting.